Birthday, Birthday, Cha, Cha, CHA

IMG_5237

My big sister Addie’s birthday is just a few days after Christmas day, December 28th. This year she turned seven years old. That seems like she is getting up there to me, but Mama says that I’ll be there in a blink and that she is still pretty early in her life. Granny’s birthday was right after that too, so I have had a lot of little birthday parties to attend lately. Granny, though, she is really getting up there like my Nana and my Granddaddy Moe and my Grandpa. Sorry to be honest, but you guys aren’t “spring chickens” like Mama says I am going to be for a long time to come.

I know the birthday song really well. I can sing the notes to it myself, and I can sing some of the words sometimes, too. I love singing, and I have a good little singing voice for my small size (Mama says that is close to bragging, which is not a good thing, but it is just a fact). I know the birthday song because it is on all of the family videos that my Granny makes every year. I love to watch them over and over and over because my brother and my sisters are in them, and I love to see them when they were smaller and growing. Mama and Daddy says that we will really appreciate the videos a lot more when we are all grown and we can look back on them. She says that all of those things will become our way to look back on what happened and how we were when we were little. I know that I get really excited already when I look at my videos and pictures of when I was a teeny baby.

The birthday song happens for everyone’s birthday in the year on those videos, and it is such a happy song. My sister Lilli always says “cha, cha, cha” after each time that we sing happy birthday, and that is my favorite part.

So when Daddy brought out Addie’s cake right after Christmas, I was in shock. There was the song that I heard in all of the videos, but it was being sung right there instead of it being stuck in the television. I got to sing the cha, cha, chas right at the right times, and I got to wish my big sister a happy birthday with my song. I got to sing it to Granny too, and Mama says that everyone else’s birthdays will happen this year, so I’ll get to sing again and again and again every time one comes up.

I got the song stuck in my head though, and I have been humming it to myself ever since even though it is nobody’s birthday again yet. Mama says it is an “unbirthday” then and that there is another song to sing for that, but I think that I can sing it whenever I want and I don’t need the other song.

I can’t wait for the next birthday, which Mama says is my big, big sister Lilli’s, to sing it again—I want to sing it every day. When cake comes out, my little singing voice is going to soar above all of the other voices. Happy birthday to you, cha, cha, cha, happy birthday to you, CHA, CHA, CHA, happy birthday dear everyone, happy birthday to you.

FullSizeRender

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

