8-Years-Old? That’s “Up There.”

20151227_131616

There I am, singing “Happy Birfffttthhhdday dear Addie” to my big sister with my family in my shout-singing voice. She turned 8 the other day, and we celebrated in style with caramel cake and 8 candles that I helped to blow out while Addie was making her wish. I bet my candle skills will help her to make whatever wish that she made come true (although she couldn’t tell me what it was– that, I hear, is bad luck).

She is 6 whole years ahead of me, and as that is so far past the amount of time that I have been around, she has been around for eternity in my mind. I hear people say “that’s up there” when people are getting older, so she is “up there” to me. Mama, though, says that is reserved for people who have been around for much longer than Addie. I think she is wrong because age and “old” is different for different people.

She is wise in her 8 years of life, and she teaches me how to play imagination games and how to sit on the potty and how to jump really high in the sky over and over again. She is my play buddy, and 8 is still young enough that she shares my imagination. Sometimes she is my biggest protector, and sometimes we fight very loudly over toys. I love my sister so very much, though, that those fights don’t matter.

2015-12-18 17.39.47

There we are in one of those love moments. Those moments, my Mama said, are so special, and one day when we are big those love moments will help to make my big sister closer to me. My sister, well, Christmas just happened, but she is better than any of those toys that are now around the house.

Happy birthday, dear Adalyn, my sister and my friend. You are a big light in all of our lives, and that light gets bigger as you grow. XOXO — Dorian.

20151227_132831

Tags: , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

