A Two-Year-Old’s Quest for the Perfect Christmas Tree.

20151127_192413-1

My family and I went on a big journey to find the perfect Christmas tree. There were so, so many, and it was my job to pick out the one that would be in our little house for Christmas. It was a big responsibility, and I took it just as seriously as a 2-year-old could. That means that at first I wandered around in circles and ran away from the trees with my little camera that pretends to take pictures.

20151127_192425

Then, though, I really focused up and looked for the perfect tree. I liked the little small ones with bows on them, all ready for Christmas time. After all, they were pretty big to me and they had pretty bows on them already. Mama and Daddy said that we had to get a bigger one, though to get all of the presents under it.

20151127_192430-1

Daddy took me over to just the right sized ones, and we picked out the fluffiest, fullest one. It was beautiful and just right. Daddy held it out and I said, “that one,” meaning that I gave my final approval. I debated running around again before saying anything, but Daddy had been helping me for a while, and he really looked like he meant business in me picking one, so I helped him out and made his job really easy by saying yes before running away.

We have a tradition in our family when going to get trees, and that is riding on the big carts that they have in Lowe’s warehouse. They aren’t really rides, but my giant brother Jonah gets one every year and loads us up, and we ride along for a minute until the nice people that have the blue uniforms on comes over to help us out. Then Mama tells us every year that they aren’t meant for riding and that we have to stop. She tells us this… but every year she lets us do it anyway, even though she knows that we might get in a tad of trouble. That’s what makes my Mama fun; she knows what the rules are, but sometimes she lets us break the little ones that won’t hurt anything like riding on the big cart. Some little rules, she says, are just waiting to be broken.

20151127_192616

My big sister Addie held onto me to make me safe, and I got all snuggled in her arms while my big, big sister Lilli watched us ride along.

Then it was time to get the tree all bundled up to go home. My Daddy says that sometimes we are just like the Griswold’s… and he says that this is an okay thing to be. I don’t know who the Griswold’s are, but if they are anything like my family, they can cause a bit of Christmas chaos. A little bit of chaos, well, isn’t that what makes life fun after all? I’ll go ahead and answer that one since I am wise in my two years. Yes, the answer is definitely yes.

Tags: , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

