I am the Chief Decorating Officer of the Dean Household (Self-Appointed)

20151128_194134

This is our beautiful Christmas tree, right in front of our Red Rider BB gun and our fake deer head that Daddy says that he “bagged” with the Red Rider. Since we work really hard at not hurting any animals, it’s good that that thing is fake. Daddy says you have to have a sense of humor even with the things that you are very serious about, which I don’t get, but I like the cute stuffed animal deer looking over our living room, so I will let that one go.

I cannot play with our tree– I can look, but I can’t touch, Mama said. This is it all pretty and decorated after everyone worked so hard at making it beautiful. Sure, I put a couple of ornaments on those bottom branches, and I helped to decorate our tree. I might have taken them right back off again saying, “ooo, pretty moon” to the moon ornament down there and grabbed the pretty white star off of the tree when Mama wasn’t looking, but that is just because I like the moon and the stars in the sky, and I wanted to hold them for a little bit to make sure that they were going to be well taken care of up there on the tree.

20151128_202006-1

My main job was to get all of the balls out of their safe box, but as everyone knows, small people love balls and boxes, and the combination was too enticing to hand them to everyone to put on the tree. I made a little home out of them instead and played in the little ball pit house that I had made. Mama said that it was a good thing that she had gotten plastic balls years ago so that Jenga, our little kitty meow meow, would not knock them down and break them, because I sat on all of the balls and threw them out when Mama asked me to hand them to her.

After all of the lights and ornaments were on the tree just right (which Mama, Addie, and Lilli did while I was busy ball wrestling and playing), Lilli got to put the star on the tree. She got really excited about her job, which was a really important one that all of us kids take turns doing. See how excited she got? She even thanked the “academy” for her award, whatever the academy is.

20151128_195454

I will have you know, though, that without me, none of this decorating business would have gotten done properly. I was the orchestrator of all of the things, playing with the lights and getting them tangled up just right, moving the boxes of ornaments where I wanted for them to be, and squealing with delight as the tree got prettier and prettier. All of that pretty happened to the tree because I was there to plan it all. I had grand plans, and it went well, I think. Mama said that decorating took a lot longer this year, and since she was the one sweeping up the needles that I had grabbed off of the tree because I wanted to feel the softness in my hands, I guess she might be right… but I was just making the moment last and helping to make memories for everyone. That, after all, is the most important job you can have, and I did really, really well.

There is Mama sweeping up all the needles. She loves cleaning and is the chief cleaner in the house, and she has her work cut out for her with all of us.

20151128_194807

Afterwards we took pictures, but I did not want to stay still, so my big sister Addie, my big, big sister Lilli, and my giant brother Jonah had to take one without me in it first because I was busy in my ball pit.

20151128_200307-1

Aren’t my sisters and my brother beautiful people? It was a really good picture, sure, but mine was better. They had to lure me up there and make me look, which was very tricky of them, but they did it. There I am in front of the tree, looking like the picture of a perfect small child that had not worked to take down the ornaments over and over again. Unfortunately, they now also have photographic evidence that I loved stealing those little ornaments, because they are there for all the world to see, right in my hands… and the look on my face gave me away, too. (Also note the baby tree, which is mine to touch all that I want and to take the ornaments on and off of as much as I want).

20151128_200025-1

When everything was done, though, and I had helped to the very best of my ability as chief decorating officer, my sister Addie and I quietly listened to Christmas music on the tv with a crackling tv fire in the background. I was very sleepy from all of that decision making, so Addie snuggled me up and sang in my ear while I was getting ready to go to sleep. Those are the best moments, those little quiet, snuggly moments with my family where everyone enjoys the quiet of Christmastime and there is love all around me. I may be little, but I know that Christmas is all about love and family and quiet. That last part, well, I am going to have to work hard at that one. Until then, though, I will use my loud singing voice to sing “Jingle Bells” over and over and over and over again, and I will keep working on using my artistic license to redecorate the tree (and steal the prettiest ornaments) again and again too. Merry Christmas, everyone.

20151128_201300-1

Tags: ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

