Traditions, Family, Love, and Casper the Friendly Ghost.

Traditions are the best, and my Mama is really good at making them and keeping them. She is the one who helps me to create memories here on the blog after all, but she is also the person who records what all of us little people do and the one who creates the things that we do year after year. I am learning about those things, called “traditions,” and I am embracing them all because my Mama makes them fun. She says that memories, like the writing that I am doing here, are what will be looked back on when we are big, and it is very, very important to keep those things alive for us when we are little so that we will remember them and do our own traditions later with our own little ones.

My Mama’s and Daddy’s friends, Holly and James, live in part of a giant building that Holly sees over called Pohlig Box Factory that is in the city. Mama and Daddy used to live around the corner from there, and one day, on a “whim” she tells me (which is a really fast decision), Mama took little bitty Addie long before she was my big sister, to see the giant Casper the ghost during Halloween time. Addie hugged giant Casper, and Mama took a picture.

2011-11-04 17.23.25

She said that sometimes traditions sneak up on you, and that was one of them. When the next year came around, Casper came out again to play, and Mama took slightly bigger Addie again to see him.

2012

That year was the last year that Addie was the youngest because in 2013 I came along. I was really, really little and still sleeping all the time, but when Addie went to take her picture that year she wanted me in the picture, too.

2013

There I am, teeny sleeping me. I couldn’t make my own choices then, but it was a good choice to put my little car basket there.

The next year I got bigger and was out of my car basket, but I wasn’t quite big enough to hug him yet. I just sat there and stared at him while Addie hugged onto him.

2014

This year was the first year that I too was big enough to hug him myself, and Addie took a step back and let me be the one who hugged onto Casper.

2015

We will keep getting bigger, and Casper will hopefully be right there every year to document how big we get. My Mama tells me that when we are big that she is going to make a collection of them to give to each of us to show how we have grown. She said that things like that are “priceless” and that when we look back on them. She says that they matter more than all of the things that you can buy in the world because things come and go, but memories, they last forever.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

