Time Flies Even for Little People… End of Summer Reflections.

IMG_4509

Summer has come and it has gone, and now it is something called fall. I don’t really remember last fall at all, although my Mama tells me that I had a great time jumping in the leaves and puddles and that I loved when it got colder and when I got to wear my little bear jacket my Daddy ordered me all the way from Japan across the whole world. The bear is a little backpack, and they bought it big so that I can wear it again this year. I have seen it in the closet, and soon, Mama says, he can come out to keep me warm again even when it is cold enough that the water falling becomes white and fluffy snow. Not yet, though, because the beginning of fall can still be hot, and right now the air is sticky and heavy, so the bear jacket will sit and wait for me to be ready for him.

IMG_3902

We had a lot of adventures this summer, and it is now my job to put all of them here so that I can look back and see them when I get bigger and don’t remember anymore. The pictures are there already, but the words need to be too so that we can have something called “memories.” My Mama says that memories are some of the most important things that we can have, because “experiences” in life, and living life to its fullest, make us happy people when we are old and have a lot to look back on. I already have a lot that I have seen, but Mama tells me that life will stretch out and become a big blur of memories and time. Childhood, all of it, she says is like that, and that it seems to last forever but is gone in a blink. A day lasts a long time for me right now, but she says it won’t always be this way. She says it seems like I was born only a moment ago. Ages to me, a second to her.

IMG_2886

So another season passed for me, summer, and that is three of the four for the whole year. I enjoyed everything this summer, but most of all, I enjoyed spending time with my family no matter what we did or where we were adventuring. I already figured out that sometimes the best memories of all involve sitting still and quietly snuggled up to the people that love us and that we love the most.

For me that’s Mama.

IMG_4850

And Daddy.

20150920_125817

And my big sister Addie.

IMG_4993

And my big, big sister Lilli.

IMG_5061

And my giant brother Jonah.

IMG_5034

And I got to snuggle with my Nana and Granny and Grandpa and Mama Linda and Granddaddy Moe and Jennifer too. I got to see and play with them all this summer, everyone’s slow down time, and they got to see me get bigger and bigger. I have love all around me every single day, and my Mama says that makes me one of the luckiest people out there. Love, she says, is the most powerful thing on Earth.

So goodbye summer, goodbye t-shirts and shorts, goodbye scraped up knees and bug bites, goodbye pools and hot sweaty arms, goodbye crickets and light-up bugs. I’ll see you next year, and I’ll be ready and even stronger when you get back.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

