Yes, We Have No Bananas…. We Have No Bananas Today.

FullSizeRender

If I look really sad sitting there, it’s because I was sad. Every day, every single day first thing in the morning, I have a banana. I want one every day because they are sweet and delicious, but my Mama and Daddy tell me that they are also one of the best foods to start our days with and that it is good that I love them.

I have grown to become very dependent on having a banana, and Mama calls me her little monkey when I move all around the house saying “Na-Na” while I eat. It is one of my favorite things, and no matter what we are doing for the day, they are always there on top of the white pantry in the kitchen, sitting right on the edge waiting for Mama to grab and hand to me. They are way up there I think because if they were at my level, they would all be gone before the afternoon. Mama says that there is too much of a good thing and that moderation is good for everything, even something as good as bananas.

Today, though, I went over to the spot beside the pantry and said “Na-Na” and Mama said something about us being “out” of bananas. I didn’t know that things could run “out.” I heard her say, “I’m sorry, Dorian, we have no bananas this morning.” Everything got fuzzy after that, but I heard her say something about the store later on, but that didn’t help at all. Doesn’t she know that little people don’t know how to wait? Doesn’t she know that little people need everything to be where they expect them every time? Forgetting really isn’t an option. Mama calls this anticipating what is going to happen, and I think that she can work a bit on that because of what happened to the bananas supply today.

I sat in that spot right by the pantry for what seemed like ages waiting for a group of bananas to magically appear up there like they always are. Even though Daddy went to the store later that day and made sure that I had a banana as a snack before our dinner, it still made an impact. Things aren’t always, always going to be waiting for me every time, and sometimes the things that I want aren’t going to be there for me. Mama told me that her and Daddy do their best to make sure that I am always happy, safe, and healthy, but she said that they can forget little things sometimes. Mama told me that there is song by a big band named The Rolling Stones that says, “You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, you just might find, you get what you need.” She says that is true in life, and that I will keep learning more and more about wanting and needing as I get bigger. I need bananas, Mama, I don’t just want them. Since they are back in the house, I guess it’s okay… but I really hope that we don’t have a repeat of the trauma that happened today with my little yellow fruit friends.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

8 responses to “Yes, We Have No Bananas…. We Have No Bananas Today.”

  1. kcg1974 says :

    Oh, to go without…So hard to learn and understand for a little one. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. fantabulea says :

    what a lovely bolg post! really liked it Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. alexablickenstaff says :

    This is so true! Nanas are Eisley’s favorite too. If it were up to her she would eat them for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Poor little Dorian without her nanas. I’m sure she will find it in her heart to forgive you. 😉 Such a sweet post.

    Like

  4. Kaily says :

    Aweeee this is so cute and so sad at the same time! Gabriel has a yogurt every morning, but those are a lot easier to keep stocked than bananas. You’re so right though, we don’t always get what we want, but we do get what we need 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

