Break the Plate, Break Your Fears

IMG_3802

My Mama let me know that a man had written to us about something very important about letting fears go and winning battles. She said that everyone has battles that they have to face, and that sometimes it seems like these battles are giant mountains. She told me that little people and big people sometimes have big walls that they have to climb in life and that it means that you have to work really hard in your mind to get things to happen. I knew that already—after all, I have learned to climb up and up to get things that I want, and that can be tough (especially with Mama and Daddy telling me that I have to get back down again and that I am not ready to go up that far yet).

Mama told me that a mom of a little one like me named Heather Von St. James had something in her body years ago that could have hurt her called Mesothelioma (which I think is the biggest word I have ever heard… and Mama said that I didn’t need to know what that was yet but that those reading would), but she told me that she fought as hard as she could, and that even though she was told that she didn’t have much of a chance of fighting it, that she went on and fought anyway—and she won. Years later she is still winning despite all odds. I think that life is like that… we can fight big, big things, and if we fight hard enough, we can still come out on top.

We all have fears—even us little people. On their website, called “Lung Leavin’ Day” because during the fight one of the breathing machines inside us called lungs had to leave her in order for her to win her fight, you take a small journey down the page that explains fear and losing that fear to win your own battle. At the end, you take your own plate, put your own fear there, and break it in the fire just like she did. My fear would be the shadows in my room because sometimes they move around (Mama says this is because of the trees outside of my room, but I’m still not so sure).

Here is the plate breaking, fear demolishing website. You can go and read about Ms. Von James’ journey and see that she is still able to be there for her little girl because she fought so, so hard and won. You can take your own fear too and break your plate in the fire. Mama said that she did and that it felt good to break up her fear in words. Words, after all, are some of the most powerful forces on Earth.

http://www.mesothelioma.com/heather/lungleavinday/#.VNzNYItgo28

A note from Mama: Thanks to Cameron Von St. James for writing and giving us this opportunity to raise awareness, and thanks for Heather and Cameron Von St. James for helping others to break their own fears and to learn that, despite odds, you can win battles that others tell you are impossible. If you have the ability to reblog or to share, please do.

images

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

4 responses to “Break the Plate, Break Your Fears”

  1. MichelleMarie says :

    OH wow what a beautiful post! I love the way you look at things through her eyes. This is so beautiful and what an awesome inspiration! 😀 Happy Tuesday! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

