I Can Taste the Earth, and it’s Delicious.

IMG_5323

Daddy is our cook, and last night he made a yummy veggie stew with tomatoes, leeks, carrots, asparagus, squash, zucchini, barley, and herbs. It was so, so good in my belly that I couldn’t wait for the new bite while I was eating the one in my mouth. I wanted it to get in my belly faster than I could even swallow it.

Because it cooked for a long time, it was soft and it melted together when you ate it. That’s how stew is, Daddy says. It cooks for a while, and all of the flavors come together in a way that makes it all taste yummy and slide right down into your belly. It makes you warm and cozy, and since it is cold outside here, that is perfect to make you feel sleepy and happy.

Before the food melts together though, it goes into the big strainer so it can get washed and then it gets cut up. I like to take the pieces of food that most people don’t eat cold, and I take big bites out of them. Last night Mama washed an entire leek and when I reached for it, Daddy gave it to me thinking that I may play with it. Instead, though, just like I do for lots of veggies, I took a bite out of it like an apple with my four little teeth. Then I took another, and another, and another, until the leek had a large part missing from it. It was all chewed up when I gave it back to Daddy.

I do that with a lot of veggies before they are cooked, which Daddy says are “raw foods.” They give me pieces of all of the veggies to eat before they are heated up. I love them—they taste like the dandelions that I am always stealing from the yard and eating.

Daddy says that raw veggies are really healthy because heating them up takes some of the good stuff in the food out of the food, and he says some people only eat “raw” food that is barely heated or not heated at all so that they can get all of the good stuff. He said that it is good that I like them as much as I do, and he says if I keep eating that way and liking those things that I will be really healthy as I get bigger and bigger. I don’t care about that, though, I just care that I can taste the Earth with every bite… and the Earth tastes wonderful.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

13 responses to “I Can Taste the Earth, and it’s Delicious.”

  1. Moongazer says :

    This reminded me of one time when my eldest was about your age (she’s 25 now!). We were out shopping and she was in her pushchair. We went into lots of shops buying the fresh food for our dinner that day and lunch tomorrow. I don’t know if you like to do this too, but my little girl liked to carry something that we had just bought and this day she held her hands up as we came out the greengrocers. I took one of the paper bags out my shopping bag and handed it to her. Then we set off on our walk home. We stopped off to feed the ducks and as I went to unclip her from her pushchair she handed me the paper bag back. But it was almost empty! She had peeked inside, seen the half cucumber and quietly munched it as we walked along!! The paper bag was a bit soggy too. I bet that didn’t taste quite as good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • doriandean says :

      I ate a tomato once in the store like an apple. Mama didn’t know, but when we went to check out, a big piece of tomato was gone. 🙂 Shopping is exciting for little people, especially food shopping.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Moongazer says :

        Just don’t do what my other little girl did when she was a few months older than you. We were in a newsagents and we had to wait in the queue. On our way home she shows me a bouncy rubber ball. Then another one, and then another! She had picked up 5 of them off the shelf while we waited!! I had to turn around and take them back and explain. I hope the person at the checkout was as nice to your mummy as the lady in the newsagents was to me. She thought it was funny (thank goodness) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • doriandean says :

        Just wait until I am bigger. I will do more and more and more and more fun things. I already grab things and throw them behind my head in to the cart and Mama has to put them back. I did manage to take a spoon from a noodle restaurant, and we got all the way home before Mama and Daddy saw that it was under my stroller seat. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Moongazer says :

    I am chuckling away here. This is fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. stylishaffairs says :

    Well, well I have the immense honour of having you as my 100th follower and you are definitely the most intelligent of them all (at your age you already write interesting posts). Thank you. And knowing how clever you are I’ll have to follow you too to keep up-to-date with all your little adventures and something tells me that I won’t be disappointed. I could’ve sent you a smoochy kiss but since I’m too old for that I’ll keep it simple and send you all my love and I’ll wait for YOUR smoochy kiss.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. stylishaffairs says :

    It is so refreshing to rediscover the world through your eyes – and taste buds.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. megdekorne says :

    Yes , yes , the earth does taste good ! ( I eat “raw” too ) … Blessings little one and mommy and daddy too ! …xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

