I Can Ride Just Like the Big Kids on my Little Bike!

IMG_5181

My big sister Addie, my big, big sister Lilli, and my giant brother Jonah all got electric scooters for Christmas from our Granny. They are big and fast and powerful, and although I wanted to get on them and to ride too, I can’t even reach the handlebars yet, so I’m not big enough. Daddy said that they are 7 and up, so I have a long way to go before I can ride on them. This made me really sad because they took off (well, Lilli and Jonah did, Addie is just seven and is scared so far to ride on hers and she has to get her brave level up first). I wanted to take off, too. I wanted to be big and free and fast. I sat on one of them and hugged it, but it just wouldn’t go for me, and Mama said that was a good thing. I wasn’t convinced.

My Daddy is a hero for me, though, and he got out my little bike that Daddy and Mommy’s friend James shined up and made beautiful. It is a little Honda racing bike that was made a long time ago, and we found it at a used stuff store sitting in a room looking sad and beaten up. James worked really hard to make it just about the best bike that a little person could have. It is just my size that I will be able to ride all by myself soon because it has “training wheels” for me to practice. I just have to get my legs to work well enough to go around in circles like I see the bigger people do.

Until then, I will have to get help from Daddy, and like I said, he is a hero to me. Since I wanted to be like my bigger sisters and brother, he put me on my little bike and he had me hold on while he took me up and down the driveway and the street. Mama stayed on one side and Daddy held onto the other side to keep me balanced and moving, and I rode. I rode all the way down to the next street and back holding on to the bars and riding my bike. I was almost like the big kids then, and I was so happy and proud to see that I could do what they could do, too. Soon I will become a master of my bike and I will ride all by myself, but until that day, until my legs can do little circles on the pedals, I will ride with my Daddy and Mama by my side.

IMG_5179

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

