Baby New Year’s Resolutions

IMG_4259

Mama and Daddy have told me that it is a brand new year now and that this one is called “2015.” They have seen a lot of these new years because they are very, very old people, but since I am brand new, this is only the second one that I have seen. I tried to make it until midnight like my big sister Addie did this year, but I am so, so little, so I only made it until 9:30. Since I usually go to bed at 8, though, I think that I did pretty well for a little person. Mama and Daddy and Addie kissed me early when they were putting me to bed so that I got New Year’s kisses, too.

Every time this change happens, in a way, everything is new again. That means that it can be a time for new starts or changes for a lot of people and that what they want to do to change is called a “resolution.” Change happens all of the time, after all, I change every day a little bit, but this is a way to make people focus on the things that they have been thinking about doing but haven’t done yet. Apparently when people get old, they sometimes wait to change things instead of just doing the new things like I do. I learned to climb on the big table for example the other day, and I didn’t have to wait for anything except for my legs to get strong enough. Big people are already strong enough to do most anything, so I am not sure why they wait for so long to do what they want to do, but Mama told me that they get “stuck in their ways” and have to get “kicked in the butt a bit” to make new things happen sometimes.

Mama and Daddy have called this year the “Year of Us,” meaning that they will focus on their lives together this year and that they will go on more adventures together. They said that they are going to focus on making their lives closer and closer knit. Since they hardly go away from one another, I don’t know exactly what they mean, but I know that it is good that they want to make an even tighter hug than they already have with one another (as long as I can snuggle right in the middle when I want to, too).

What Mama and Daddy don’t know is that I can also have these “resolutions.” I may not have that much experience, but I can change, and I know that I need to focus on myself, too. After all, I am growing up and fast, so I came up with a list of resolutions that I want to do this year.

1. Share better. I have an “everything is mine” philosophy right now, but it seems to make people upset for some reason when I take things from their hands while they are using them. I will work on only taking the things that I really, really want instead.
2. .. . . . .boogcjij Stop stealing Mama’s computer when she is trying to work or to type for me on my little blog. As you can see, I am not doing well on this resolution so far. That was me… stealing Mama’s computer. I was just adding my own little touch.
3. Use my words. Mama and Daddy say this to me when I start pointing and yelling at the things that I want to get. I have a lot of them in my head, but they just come out instead as other sounds. I will work to get those words out right more often.
4. Make bigger messes. I am really good at this already, but I am always trying to reach new heights in my abilities. I’m like a little baby hurricane, Mama says, but I can always get better.
5. Hug more. I am good at showing love, but Mama and Daddy both seem to melt when I hug them tight like I do with my stuffed animals. I want to make Mama and Daddy happy, so I will work on my hugging arms this year.
6. Climb higher. This one makes both Mama and Daddy nervous, but I am working on my climbing, and I am getting pretty good. I already can get onto the big dining room chairs and onto the dining room table. I see that there are other things that are even higher from there, so I am going to work to get to those things.
7. Run faster. I can walk now, and I can even run when I try really hard, but I want to outrun Daddy. He’s pretty fast and his legs are way longer, so I am not sure how I am going to do with this resolution yet. Watch out, though, Daddy, because I am coming for you.
8. Begin to think about using that potty machine. I pee and poop on myself, and Mama and Daddy have to clean it all up when I do. I see that they use the magic potty machine and I know how to flush that machine, I’m just not quite big enough to know how it works yet. I sit on it with the lid closed, and Mama and Daddy think that I think it’s just a chair, but I know what it’s for.
9. Learn patience. I am not good at this one yet, and even when food is happening really quick, I want it right when my tummy rumbles that it needs food. I am going to work on a 5-minute patience time. That’s enough for a home-cooked meal, right?
10. Learn about me. This one is easy, and I do it every single day. I learn more about who I am and what I am becoming all the time… all that I have to do is to breathe in and out, and experience the wonder that is me in this world.

That’s it. I sure hope that I can do all of these things and lots more, too. Who knows what the year will bring, all that I know is that I am getting bigger in it and becoming my own little person more and more. Happy New Year, everybody, and I hope that you get all of the dreams that you have this year.

FullSizeRender

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

2 responses to “Baby New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. Kat says :

    Those are great resolutions and it’s really important for parents to remember themselves, as well. Wishing you luck on the “Year of Us”!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

