You May Say That I’m a Dreamer, But I’m not the Only One.

photo 1

Today Grandpa, Mama, Daddy, Addie, and me all went to a giant park, the biggest one that I have ever seen, called Central Park. There are all sorts of wonderful things there like a man that makes giant bubbles with a net, singers, people playing music of all types, and other little people playing everywhere. There is even a huge statue of a girl named Alice that is from a book where she goes to a magical place called Wonderland that Mama told me that she has read many times and that she will read to me, too, one day soon. Usually statues are things that you can’t climb on, and if you do, you’ll get in trouble, but Alice was made for little children to get to go and climb all over her, and my big sister got to climb all over her and enjoy her, too. I was too little, but that’s okay– I’ll come back and next time I’ll hug the top of her head.

I got to walk all over the park, though, and one thing that Mama had me and Addie do was to go over to Strawberry Fields and to stand in a big circle that says IMAGINE in the middle of it. I have heard that song before, Mama loves it and plays it a lot, and Grandpa loves it very much, too, and loved the man who wrote the song a long, long time ago. My Grandpa explained that the man who made that song was named John Lennon, and that he was taken away from the world before the world was ready to see him go and before he was ready, too. He told me, though, that his music can live on and on and on and that we can always enjoy it forever because he made it for all of us.

Grandpa told me that the words to the song are to bring everyone together– all different types of people– and to not fight but to love one another instead. I think that I would have liked John Lennon, because I try to love everyone and I don’t see any differences between people– everyone can be my friend. Thank you, Mr. Lennon, for making the world a little more peaceful while you were here and after you were gone.

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today…

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

3 responses to “You May Say That I’m a Dreamer, But I’m not the Only One.”

  1. Kat says :

    Isn’t Central Park amazing? Being an Alice fan, I love the Alice statue. And Strawberry Fields and Imagine are my all time favorites. I visit it every time I’ve been in New York, being a lover of John Lennon’s music.

    Liked by 1 person

    • doriandean says :

      Oh my goodness we all loved it, and I was taking the kids for the first time and my husband too. The last time I got to go I was pregnant with my older daughter (so I made sure to tell her that I went to Strawberry Fields and stood where she was with her in my belly last time). My older daughter loved the Alice statue and did not want to leave her! Strawberry Fields is my favorite and I do love John Lennon’s music as well– and it was so cool sharing that with my little ones. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mom says :

    Hi! Merry Christmas!
    I have been very busy lately and need to take time to get caught up on your escapades and adventures! I re-wrote a post from a few months ago as an article for an online mag and your link is on it. Hope you get lots of what Santa owes you!! Here’s the link for the mag article ā¤
    http://catholicap.com/2014/12/traditions-a-pleasant-tie-that-binds-us-by-kassie-ritman/

    Like

Leave a Reply

