I Love Flying… The Buildings and Big Trucks Sure are Little from up Here.

photo 2

Mama and Daddy and Me went on a trip to a place called Boston, which is a giant city away from where we live in Richmond, VA. In order to get there, just like when we went all the way over to California when I really, really little, was to fly there in an airplane. I fly when I am soaring in my Daddy’s arms around the house and he makes me a bird, but this is way different. Daddy and Mama and all of the other people are all in this little building with wings called a plane, and we all get to fly—Daddy doesn’t even have to do any work to make it happen like he does when he makes me become a bird.

I know what airplanes are because I see them all of the time in the sky. I watch them and I love them, and I always point at them and go “whatisit?” which is what I say for most things even when I already know like with planes. I have seen them get really big when they are landing. When they are going away, they go up way in the air. And that’s just what we got to do – twice – because we had to go there, but we had to get on another one to get back.

First, to get on one, you have to get scanned in, and there is a long process just to get to where the plane is going to take off. Mama says that it is to keep us all safe. Then you walk and walk until you get to where you get in another line to get on the inside. There were a lot of different planes with a lot of different pictures on them, but we flew Southwest Airlines, which has a heart with wings. Everyone there was so friendly and they all talked and laughed with me the whole time every time that they went by. Mama and Daddy said that is why Southwest airlines is their favorite—because they have a good sense of humor and that everyone there seems really happy to be doing what they are doing.

It wasn’t a full flight, so they let us get in the very back of the plane and I got to look out the little round window as we took off and landed. I loved it so much I squealed with delight, and I even got my own seat most of the time after we took off and I got to move from Daddy’s lap. When I could, though, I didn’t sit still… I just couldn’t I was so excited. I got down and up and down and up, and I got to touch the little Southwest logo that was right behind us, which was shiny and pretty and I wanted to take it home with us, but Daddy told me that it was stuck up there and that it had to stay.

They gave us pretzels and I got a Ginger Ale, and before we knew it, it was time to sit again and land, and the ground got bigger and bigger and bigger and everything became normal sized again instead of looking like things from my little dollhouse.

Thanks, magical Southwest Airlines people, for keeping me safe and happy the whole time. I can’t wait to become a bird in the air again and again and again.

photo 1

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

