Candy is Everywhere! My First Real Halloween

The other day we all piled up in the car and went to a place near us for “Trick or Treating.” Trick or Treating means that there is suddenly candy everywhere, all around us, at people’s houses. Some candy was outside in a basket to grab, and other candy you had to knock on the door to get and people came out with buckets and buckets of candy. I love candy, so I wanted Halloween to be every day, but Mama and Daddy says it only comes one time per year because it is a holiday, and people wouldn’t want to give out candy every day.

We got to dress up too in order to get the candy. I was spider girl, and I even had on warm spiderman socks to match. My big sister Addie was a doctor, my big, big sister Lilli was Catwoman, and my giant brother Jonah was a guy with a blue mask on that had a blank look– there is no name to call him, but he sure was creep with that mask. I had to see him without it to make sure that he was still Jonah to not get scared.

photo 1-2

By the time that the night was winding down, I had been carried to the door enough and had watched all of the other kids with legs that work a bit better than mine enough to know exactly what to do. I started walking with my hands being held and got to exactly the right house, and then I wanted to be let go.

photo 2-2

The porch was a long, long way away, but I scooted and crawled all the way up to the door… up the steps and everything with my brother and sisters and my Mama right with me to make sure that I was okay.

photo 3-2

Then I trick or treated all by myself. I can’t say “trick or treat” yet so I said, “arh arh la!”, which means the same thing. My Mama explained my journey and that I had picked his house, and he let me reach in myself and take a piece of candy. I took just one piece, but he had me reach back in and get one more too because he said that it had been a lot of effort for me since I am so little.

photo 4

Mama scooped me up, and Mama and Daddy agreed that that was a good way to “top off the night” and that it was time to go home. I had a whole bucket of candy all for me, most of which had melted a bit because I didn’t want to let any of them go, and I got to hold a piece on the way home.

I can’t wait for next year because my legs are going to work better and so is my voice, and I can do it the exact same way as the big kids. See you soon, my candy friends.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

One response to “Candy is Everywhere! My First Real Halloween”

  1. sparrow says :

    Yay for Dorian! Sounds like a triumph 🙂 Happy halloween.

    Like

Leave a Reply

