Hay is for Horses… and Me. The Ashland Berry Farm Pumpkin Patch.

photo 1

Last weekend Mama, Daddy, my big sister Addie, my big, big sister Lilli and my giant brother Jonah all went to the Ashland Berry Farm to go to the pumpkin patch. I have seen those huge containers of pumpkins when we have gone to the store, but places like this are where pumpkins actually grow up big and strong for us to pick them. Mama and Addie and me went last year to a pumpkin patch, but Mama said that I was so small that I slept right through the hayride and the pumpkins that time—so this was really my first time of many, many times of going. She said that it is a tradition and that we have many of those, and she said that they are really important because we get to do things as a family. I think that I love traditions.

It was really busy there and there were a lot of kids there all waiting to get pumpkins. We got behind a big tractor and took a hayride to where all of the pumpkins are in these big fields. I loved the hay because it was everywhere and it was easy to pick up with my fingers. It was scratchy against my skin, but it didn’t itch and it also felt tickly against my face. My big sister Addie sat with me and played with the hay, putting it all around me like a blanket.

photo 3

There is a lot of pressure at the pumpkin patch. You have to pick just the right one, and so all of us had to go through and pick the one that we really, really wanted. I picked out the biggest one of all—a giant and heavy green one. I couldn’t carry any of them, so Daddy had to hold mine for me and he held me too. I sure am glad that my Daddy has big and strong arms, because he never even seemed like he had too much to carry (and I am getting bigger every single day and I am wiggly too). Mama picked out a tall green one the color of mine, Daddy picked out a tall orange one, and Jonah and Lilli and Addie all picked out perfectly round orange ones. They put all of the pumpkins together all around me and I got to touch all of them while sitting in the field.

photo 2

Halloween is coming Mama said, and we are all going to get dressed up and go to Trick or Treating, which is where you go to other people’s houses and you get candy just for being cute. I am good at cute, so I bet I’m going to get a lot of candy. Until then, me and my little pumpkin friends are going to have a pumpkin party where I roll them around and pat their little hollow heads. Happy Halloween, pumpkin buddies. I can’t wait for you to be in my belly one day.

photo 4

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

