I am One! Happy Birthday to Me, Happy Birthday to Me, Happy Birthday to… Meeeeeee…

photo-3

Today, Mama said, is my very first birthday. I wasn’t sure what a birthday is, but Mama explained that there are things called years, and when they come around full circle to the same date on a thing called a calendar, that it is celebrated as the day of your birth. She told me that I came into the world in the middle of the night, 3:24 a.m., and that at this time last year her and Daddy were in the hospital with me and that we were all busy getting to know each other.

Mama told me that birthdays were very special days, and even though it is kind of like every other day, that we need to stop and appreciate the person who came into the world that day—to show that person that we love them very much. Mama and Daddy have both covered me in kisses and told me “happy birthday” and “love you” a lot today, and they both have played with me, too. They do this every day, but they have spent special attention to making sure that I know how much they love that I have come into their lives. Silly Mama and Daddy—I know that already (but I do love the snuggles and kisses all the same).

We did a lot of my favorite things today… I got to play with my doggie Django, I got to ride in the jogging stroller while Mama and Daddy took a walk, and we went to one of my favorite places to eat (I even got orange slices at the end). One of my favorite parts of today, though, was cake. Mama and me went to have cupcakes at Nana’s house, and Nana told me that she loved me too and gave me a giant house full of “Little People” to play with. Then we went and got more cupcakes for after dinner from Pearl, a cupcake place in town with vegan cupcakes that are almost too sweet, if there is such a thing, for our Mama-Daddy-birthday-celebration with the Happy Birthday Dorian song. I got to eat all the cake that I want (well, not all the cake, because everyone else got some too), and I got to get sticky and messy and nobody cared… not even Mama, and she hates big messes.

Mama said that my birthday isn’t over yet, even after today, because we are having a “birthday party” in a couple of days and that I get homemade cake then, too. Mama said then I get more toys and that I am going to get to play all day long.

Mama and Daddy tell me to live every day of my life like it is my birthday, and to live with passion (which Mama says is a fancier way of saying live your life by throwing yourself into it). I do this already, but Mama says that some people forget later on how to live with passion. Mama and Daddy want me to always, always do this, and if I do, they say that I will have a very special life, and special birthdays, every year… even when I am very old like they are.

“It takes a long time to become young.” – Pablo Picasso

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

8 responses to “I am One! Happy Birthday to Me, Happy Birthday to Me, Happy Birthday to… Meeeeeee…”

  1. Kat says :

    Happy Birthday!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Boeta says :

    Happy birthday.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ANooP says :

    Happy bday 🙂 God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Blackbird Scraps says :

    Happy Birthday! Jackson got some Little People for his first birthday too! This year has gone by SO fast. Slow down, sweet babies!

    Like

    • doriandean says :

      Oh she loves them! The year has flown… as they all do with small ones. I want to pause time sometimes when she looks up and smiles as me with that gorgeous, toothless grin. 🙂 Happy birthday to Jackson, too (belated).

      Like

Leave a Reply

