I Don’t Want to Work, I Just Want to Bang on the Drum All Day…

photo 1-2

My big sister Addie takes drum lessons now. Drums are these big round things that make a lot of noise when you hit them or hit sticks against them (Addie calls these “drum sticks”). She says that there are other things that make other sounds like something called “cymbals” that are big disks and the “Hi-Hat” which is a type of cymbal where two can hit together softly or louder depending on how hard your hit the pedal. Addie likes to hit the pedal pretty hard.

When Addie goes to her lessons, I hear lots of big crashing and booming sounds through the wall. Addie says that she like the bass drum the best because it makes a lower and louder echoing sound. I hear that one in my feet when she hits it, so I know which one she is talking about, and I think that it is my favorite, too.

We aren’t allowed to see her play because Mama says it would “distract” her, meaning that she would look at us instead of her drums. In order to learn anything, Mama says, especially how to play music, you need to focus really, really hard and practice the same things over and over and over again.

Addie loves the drums, and she sits with her practice pad drumming and drumming and drumming. She hits her legs to music, she hits the back of the seat, she hits the side of my seat—anything where she can make “beats.” Mama says that if she keeps it up they will get her a drum set, and then she says that the house will get really loud, but that it is okay because it is full of music. I love music, so I won’t mind.

I got to hit drums too at the music store when we were getting Addie’s sticks and her practice pad. It was the kind of drum that didn’t need sticks, just your hands. Daddy called them, “congo drums”. They were soft but tight against my hands and they made a pretty sound when I hit them. Maybe one day, when I am bigger and my hands work better, I can play the drums like my sister. She’s just learning, but I bet she’ll be a rock star by the time that I am big like her, and she can teach me to be one too.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

