The Calm My Sisters Bring Me…

photo 2

I love all of my family, but two of my very favorite people in the entire world are my sisters. Mama tells me that I am a little girl just like them but smaller, and I know that they are both people that I should look up to and to learn from as I get bigger. I feel a sense of peace and calm when my sisters are around and loving me or playing with me. If I touch them, especially if we are sleepy, I feel like I am safe.

My big, big sister Lilli is a born actress and artist. She can become any type of person that she wants to, she can sing at the top of her lungs, and she can write and draw. She is born to be a person that commands attention from others, and she is a born leader. I know that I can learn to be in charge when I need to from her, and I have already found my own singing voice. I have also learned to be assertive (Mama says that I am a bit stubborn like Daddy can be) when I need to be, too.

My big sister Addie is a bundle of light and smiles, and when she is around I can’t help but giggle at her. She loves to play and imagine, and she loves to be a little bit of everywhere all at once. She is learning the drums, and her voice can be just as loud as the drum sounds when she wants them to be. Mama says that she doesn’t have volume control of her voice yet. I understand that because I can be really, really loud when I want attention. Overall, Addie is a big ball of happy and energy, and I love to be around her.

Both of them together, even though they fight sometimes, are teaching me the meaning of sisterhood and love. They love each other fiercely, and I see them play and laugh and help each other. I see Lilli teach Addie how to do new things, and I see Addie give Lilli the reminder that she still needs to play even though she is getting bigger. I know that there is something special about the bond between girls that are growing up together, and I know that there is something wonderful about having sisters that love you and support you. Together we are three peas in a pod, sisters standing up strongly and ready to take on the world.

photo 2-2

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

2 responses to “The Calm My Sisters Bring Me…”

  1. sparrow says :

    Sisters are the best–though I’m biased, having two myself 🙂

    Like

    • doriandean says :

      They are. Sister arguments can be really, really harsh though– they can cut deep. Miss Dorian is a bit too young to know this yet, but she will realize it when she is a bit bigger.

      Like

Leave a Reply

