The Wonderful Magic that is a “Light Switch.” Let There be Light… and Dark, and Light, and Dark, and Light, and…

photo-3

All of my big people that carry me around the house love putting me in front of the magical “light switch.” Daddy says that it is called this because it brings us light just with the flip of a switch. The name makes sense, but I don’t know how it works exactly. Daddy says that it is “electricity” and that it is what makes light come on all around the house. I think that it must really be some type of magic that Mama and Daddy don’t really understand but pretend to. When I put my head to the side, it looks like a little face with a nose in the middle, so I think of all of them as little men that watch over the house for us and keep it safe and light. When they are on they are awake, and when they are off they are asleep.

When I get near one of those little switchmen, I lean my entire body over to get to it with my finger outstretched as far as I can go. I can’t push it up to get the light on because it is too hard. When the magic switch is up, though, I can take my little finger, which is exactly the same width of the switch, and I can push it down to make the light go away.

The dark scares me, so I always hope that my big people put it back on right away, and they usually do. When that happens, my finger goes right back to the magic switch to make it go down. I don’t even have to think about it —- my finger just goes there without my brain telling it to. I can make something big happen, something magical, and I feel like one of those superheroes that Daddy tells me about like Batman or Superman. I’m a girl, though, so maybe I need a girl name, like “Magic-Light-Switch-Girl” or “Lightbaby,” and I need an outfit—maybe a suit with the switch in the middle. Batman has a suit, I have seen it, and he has a cape, too.

Maybe if I try hard enough, I can learn to fly like Superman and I can reach it myself. For now, though, I will just rely on my Robins to lift me up so that I can save the day by having the little switchmen fall asleep over and over and over again. This keeps them from getting grumpy, because I know that I get grumpy when I don’t fall asleep lots of times during the day, and since they are off at night, I know that they sleep then just like me. Take naps, little lightswitchmen, and come to play with me when you wake up.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

9 responses to “The Wonderful Magic that is a “Light Switch.” Let There be Light… and Dark, and Light, and Dark, and Light, and…”

  1. sparrow says :

    Ha, so funny. I was just spending time today showing my twins the light switch 🙂 Endlessly fascinating. Almost as interesting as the ceiling fan.

    Like

    • doriandean says :

      It is a favorite in our house right now. It’s funny how the wonder of children can make you examine things differently. Agreed on the ceiling fan, too. Dorian is endlessly fascinated by those as well. We went to a baby shower last weekend and there was a giant one at the top of a cathedral ceiling, and that was the main point of focus the entire time. How old are your twins?

      Like

    • doriandean says :

      It’s not letting me write back below– I am not sure why, but that’s why this thread is now out of order. Dorian is just over 10 months, so they are close in age. This is a fun age! My favorite with my older daughter was the age of 3… when everything became a question. “Why do we stay on the ground?” “Why do we have to breathe?” “Why is the sky blue?” So fun to see those little wheels turning. As far as being tired, when you wrote I was already asleep! How’s that on a Friday the 13th full moon night? Having kids often means early bedtimes for us “big people.”

      Like

  2. Kat says :

    Magic-Light-Switch-Girl- sounds like a winner to me! 🙂 I love hearing about Dorian’s perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • doriandean says :

      That was my personal favorite, although she can decide what she wants to go with… perhaps something different even if she so chooses. A costume would be a must, though. And thank you… it is a nice break from life’s stress to see how Dorian thinks and feels. 🙂 She is napping currently, and I would love to get into her head and see her dreams right now.

      Like

      • Blackbird Scraps says :

        I so feel you here. Jackson (10.5 mos) will sometimes laugh out loud (or sadly, cry momentarily) in his sleep and I wish so badly I knew what he was dreaming about.

        Liked by 1 person

      • doriandean says :

        Oh I know… Dorian will fall asleep and laugh immediately, and she smiles really big and I wonder what she sees. I think that she can do anything in her little baby dreams. I hate it when she cries though– and wonder what she has seen that has come back to upset her.

        Like

Leave a Reply

