Dorian in Wonderland… The “Jabberkitty”

photo-2

Mama loves reading to me, and she said that she wanted to help me to understand mirrors and dreams better, so she told me the story of Alice in Wonderland. In the story a little girl named Alice goes to a place that seems like where I am most of the time that is full of weird things that she doesn’t quite understand. I think that I like Alice because she keeps going and going on her adventure even when weird things happen to her like becoming really big or really small, and she never seems scared. We aren’t that different really, after all, I keep getting bigger, I’m just not eating little cakes and I don’t grow quite as fast.

She told me that story, and then she said that Alice goes back in another book called Through the Looking Glass, and What Alice Found There. A Looking Glass, she said, is another word for a mirror, but in this story instead of her touching the other Alice like I do in our mirror, she walks right through and gets to the other side.

I sure wish that I could do that since I want to see what the other Mama is up to over there, but Mama said that the book is magic and that you can’t go through a real mirror. I think she may just not have tried hard enough and may have forgotten how much you can do inside your head when you are small like me. The world is magic, but Mama has forgotten. I’m helping her to remember while she is helping me to learn.

When Alice goes into the mirror, she is in a room just like the other room, but there is a book there with a poem called “Jabberwocky.” Mama read me the poem, and it was scary, but the boy in the poem wins and he destroys the Jabberwocky, who is a big monster. The poem is filled with what Mama calls “nonsense words” that aren’t real, but they sounded real to me. I make sounds all of the time that mean things. Mama thinks that I’m not talking, but I am, she just can’t understand me yet.

In my dreams I can do anything just like Alice. I can go in my little walker box with my brother’s Nerf sword and I can climb to the top of the walls and get to the things that Mama and Daddy have hidden. I can fly if I want to, and I can become big like Mama. I can touch kitties, puppies, and nothing is out of my reach. In my dreams I am in Wonderland, and the Cheshire cat smiles at me with his big grin underneath starry skies. I bet Mama wishes she could still do that…

(Note from Amy Dean: The first and last stanza of “Jabberwocky” stay original as they are simply perfect as do a few “nonsense words” within the poem, but Lewis Carroll of course needs to be credited. Little Dorian does not understand copyrights or plagiarism or ethics, but her Mama does.)

Jabberkitty

“‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy, were the borogoves
And the momeraths outgrabe.”

“Beware the kitty cat my girl!
The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
Beware the whirly birds, and shun,
The furious Bandersnatch!”

I took my foam Nerf sword in hand:
Long time the manxome foe I sought—
So rested I by the pack and play,
And stood a while in thought.

And, as salved thought in doom,
The kitty cat, with eyes of flame,
Came whiffling through the utility room,
And burbled as it came.

One, two! One, two! And through and through
The nerf sword whirled into the air!
I could not reach, and off it went,
I could not see it there.

“And hast though caught the kitty cat?
Your foe and your desire, love!
Oh sad, sad day! Callooh! Callay!”
Mom chuckled from above.

“‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy, were the borogoves
And the momeraths outgrabe.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

One response to “Dorian in Wonderland… The “Jabberkitty””

  1. Ann Phillips says :

    Very creative!

    Like

Leave a Reply

