Why Aren’t All of Those Kids Using Their Hands?

photo 2

Today we went to a big park, but we went past the giant swings and things to climb on and went to this giant flat place full of lots of kids running that Mama said were soccer fields. Soccer, Mama said, was a game that is played all over the world. People apparently get really excited about this game, and I have to admit that I don't really get it. Daddy said that the rule is that you have to play with your feet. I thought feet were what big people used to walk and little people like me used to grab and chew since their feet don't work that well yet, but Daddy said that there are plenty of other amazing things that people do that involves arms, legs, feet, hands… everything. For soccer, though, feet seem to be the most important part.

My big, big sister Lilli and my giant brother Jonah play soccer, and they had games today. My big sister Addie didn't play on the giant pretty green fields, but she did get to play on the side of them with Lilli and Jonah. All of the kids' feet moved really fast and I couldn't keep up with where the ball was. Mama said you have to watch really closely, and since my attention span isn't but so long yet, I cared more about watching the ball next to me, which was Lilli's ball. She even let me hold and touch the ball, and it was smooth and kind of slick. I know that big people can't use their hands, but I sure am glad I'm not big yet, because it sure was pretty and shiny.

I could see the sun shining on the ball, and Mama said that the world was the same shape and also shined on us the same way. That I don't get at all… if all of these fields and so much of the world is flat, how can it be round? Mama said that's because the world is so big that we can't see that it is like really a big, big ball. She told me that the sun is what keeps us warm and alive, and she said that without it that we all wouldn't be here and that nothing beautiful that I have seen would be. I sure am glad about the sun since I like being here, but it shines in my face sometimes when I'm asleep in the car and it makes my skin pink if my Mama doesn't put on this white creamy stuff all the time, so maybe if it could be there but not be quite as bright it would be better. 

I kept trying to hold the ball, but it was big and it kept slipping out of my hands and rolling away. Mama kept giving it back and said that you have to grab things really hard and to hold on really tight if you want to keep them. Maybe that's why she and Daddy hold me tight all the time… I have a feeling that they want to keep me too. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

