Kids Sure Are Busy… I Wish My Legs Were Stronger and I Could Run Too…

IMG_2885

IMG_2880

Today we went to a place called the “Children’s Museum of Richmond.” I didn’t know there was a place that people made just for little people to play, but my sister Addie was really excited about going and told me that I was going to have so much fun. We went into this big doorway and there were all these colors everywhere—the walls, the floor, everything. Big kids like my sister were running around everywhere, and everything seemed like something that was made so that little people could touch it. I don’t know why Mama and Daddy can’t just make our house like that, but Mama says I’ll understand one day when I’m bigger that there are a lot of things that you need that aren’t toys. I don’t understand this at all—why can’t everything and every second be made so that everyone, even big people like Mama and Daddy, can play? I bet if Mama and Daddy played more on their own instead of running around so much they would be even happier than they are. Big people seem to forget how to play, and that’s the saddest thing pretty much ever that I have seen yet. We went all over the place, and I got to touch my favorite thing—water. They have a big fountain where you could put your hands under water that was running forever and forever. It never stopped, and I put my hand in the fountain for a long time until my fingers were all wrinkly. Then we went over to a big circle thing with large animals that you could ride that Addie called a carousel. I rode with Mama and Addie was on the animal beside me. We went up and down and up and down in a big circle and the world spun around with it. I got to hold on to this big shiny pole in front of me so that I could hold on while the world was spinning (Mama says the world is always spinning and we just can’t feel it, but I don’t understand. If we are moving, how could we not feel it?) I never wanted it to end, but it slowed down and stopped, and Mama said that it was time to do the next thing. Mama says that everything ends, but I think that if we just try hard enough, some things can stay the same forever and ever… like love, and laughing, and play. Mama knows a lot, but I bet she doesn’t know that she can still play just like me… she just needs to remember and to try.

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

2 responses to “Kids Sure Are Busy… I Wish My Legs Were Stronger and I Could Run Too…”

  1. Grace Dean says :

    Thumbs up for Dorian!

    Like

  2. Ann Phillips says :

    Dorian is very wise!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

