Some Little People are Big Beyond Their Years, and Braver, too.

IMG_2848

Today my big sister Addie was playing with me on the big bed that I love so much. I watch her all of the time and she loves to play with me. Mama says one day not too long from now I’ll be big like her. She’s 6 years old, so I don’t know about that since I haven’t even made one of those things called “years” yet, but Mama always tells me that time goes by fast. My days seem to stretch out so far that each day seems like it is really, really long, but my Mama says that’s because I haven’t seen too much time in my life yet and that it just keeps going faster and faster. My sister seems like she has seen a lot of life already, and my Mama says she has seen more life than many little girls her age because she has something called “juvenile diabetes.” She has a lot to do every day that Daddy says she has to do. She can’t just play and eat what she wants like my other bigger sister Lilli and my giant big brother Jonah.

I see her taking this blue stick thing and getting blood from her finger (Mama and Daddy help her with this but she can already do it herself) and putting it on this piece of thick paper into a machine that tells her numbers. The numbers, so Daddy tells me, says if she needs to eat if her numbers are low or if she needs this thing called “insulin” if her numbers are high. I don’t know what insulin is, but I know that she has a sharp little thing called a needle and that the medicine that keeps her okay has to be used with the needle. It seems like it would hurt, but my big sister never, ever cries and keeps running and playing after it’s done. She gets lots of those… Mama says at least 2 in the morning and then one after lunch and one after dinner, and that without that medicine she would get really, really sick pretty fast. She seems really brave to me to not cry and not get upset about having to do all of those things that hurt. My sister is so brave that she raised money for this group called the JDRF, which Daddy says means “Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation.” She spoke in front of her entire school to let them know more about Diabetes, and she got this big bag of cool stuff that she let me play with. The one that I liked the best was this thing called a “Frisbee” which you throw and it flies in the air. I can’t throw anything big yet (although I can throw a pacifier really far when I’m mad), but one day Mama says that I will get to run and play outside too. I hope, though, that I don’t have to be quite as brave as my big sister is, and I hope that I don’t have to have medicine every day just to stay healthy. I do want to be big and strong like her though, and I really think that she might just be braver than even Mama and Daddy.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

