Little Furry People and the Meaning of Love

photo(2)

I woke up this morning in my home. It was weird not being somewhere different each day, but Mama said, “I love you,” and everything was okay. I did get to stretch out and touch my puppy Django today, and I had missed him so much. Even though I sometimes don’t know my own strength and can be a bit rough, Django always just licks my hand and snuggles up to me. Mama is teaching me the word “gentle,” but I don’t get that one yet. She just opens up my hand flat and makes my hand go down his back. I like the way that his fur feels on the inside of my hand… it’s tickly. He sticks right by me, and me him, and that’s the way I like it. I have a feeling that if I was in trouble that he would be right there trying to help me. Dogs really are my favorite creatures in the world right now, although I like those fuzzy things that run away called cats too. We have two of them, and one day, when my legs work better, I will be able to catch up to them too. Mama seems worried about that, but I only want to feel their soft fur in the palm of my hand like I do Django. Mama tells me that we have to respect all animals and to treat them with love, and she says that there are many different kinds of animals in the world and that we have a responsibility to treat them all well since we are bigger and stronger. I’m not that strong yet, but I know that I am learning to be more gentle with Django every day because I love him. Man’s (or little baby girl’s) best friend.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

