Alcatraz… a Beautiful Island for Really, Really Bad People.

Image

We came all the way back to where we started today. Mama says this is our last day far away, and she sounded sad. I think that I am too. We went to Chinatown and Mama and Daddy got some interesting things, and everyone got really close to my face saying things like, “happy,” “beautiful,” and “good luck charm.” I didn’t know that people could be charms, but Mama laughed and said that I really am a good luck charm for them and one of the best things to ever happen to them. We then rushed and almost missed a boat that was taking us somewhere else. I had never been on a boat before, but it moves through the water really fast and pushes the water around. I think that when I get big I will have a boat and take Mama and Daddy on it… that way we can do this every day. It was beautiful and the island kept getting bigger and bigger. Mama and Daddy both seemed really excited to see it, but it looked like it parts of it were falling apart to me. Old things must excite old people I guess. When we got off the boat we walked around to get to the big building. Daddy told me that this had been a building where people who had been really bad went away and couldn’t come back out or go anywhere. He told me that it was one of the most famous places in our country that had locked people away. I can’t imagine doing anything bad enough to be taken away from our world, but I guess that some people do really bad things. I’m just glad they aren’t here anymore. We walked through the prison and we even got to go into some of the boxes with bars that Daddy told me were called cells. I touched a bar, and Daddy said that bad people a long time ago had touched those same bars. It felt kind of weird, and I don’t know if I liked the idea of touching the same thing that a bad man had. Mama even went into the really dark places that Daddy said was called “solitary confinement,” which he said is a fancy way to say alone. I don’t like being alone, so I don’t know why Mama went in there, but she stayed in for a minute and told me that she was trying to imagine what it would feel like to be in there. I don’t ever want to know, and Daddy didn’t want to know either because we just walked away. We then walked around the island. It was beautiful and you could see a lot of the big city from there too. It must have been sad to see the city but not be able to get to it. I guess that’s why it was such a good place for bad people. There were seagulls there, a lot of them, and they let me get right up to them. There were flowers too and pretty things, and I wondered why pretty things were around a place that was supposed to keep people unhappy… but Mama told me that there is beauty everywhere if you look for it. I don’t know what she means at all, but I did feel that peace and beauty had taken over at least a piece of this place.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

