The Pacific Ocean Sure is Bigger Than my Little Whale Bathtub…

Image

Today we went to a place called Big Sur. We seemed to just keep driving and driving, but when we got out of the car, Mama and Daddy took me over to see what they called the ocean. It was more water than I had ever seen before, and I couldn’t see the end of it. I thought that all water was either in my little tub shaped like a whale or at the giant tub that Mama calls a pool, but this was way, way bigger than even that. It was really far down and I couldn’t touch it, but Daddy found a place were we could get to the water and sand called Pfeiffer Beach. Mama laughed that I was touching the Pacific Ocean before the Atlantic, and she told me that the Atlantic Ocean is much closer to us.

I got to touch a lot of things… rocks, driftwood, the ocean, and the sand. I think that sand was my favorite though, because it broke apart in my hand and squished between my fingers and my toes. I kept trying to pick it up to put it to my mouth, but every time it went away before my hand could get there. Mama said that’s how life is and to enjoy every little grain of that sand while I had it in my hand. I think that I don’t need to worry because there is more sand than I could even see just in that one beach (and Daddy says there are a lot of beaches in the world), but Mama told me that things can slip by faster than I think. I’ll wait and see… life seems to be really long so far.

Tags: , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

