We Can Do It, and We Can Because Women Before Us Were Strong.

Image

Sometimes you see things that you didn’t expect to see. Daddy saw a place that he said that it was to remember the women who helped out during World War II. He was talking to Mama about the women who worked really hard jobs that they needed to do because many of the men were far away fighting in the war. I don’t know what war is and I have a feeling that I don’t want to know, but from what I understand, many people are taken away from this Earth when it happens. It doesn’t really make sense, but Mama told me that I need to understand what women did throughout history because that is what makes me able to do what I am able to do. She says that I can do anything and that I have this freedom because of the strong women that came before me. We took a walk that Daddy said was the history of the war and what women did, and it had words I could not read that Mama said were the words of some of those women. It all seemed confusing, but I had a feeling that it was really important. Mama read me the last one, and I can’t understand it, but she said I would one day and that it was important. “Now you must tell your children, putting modesty aside, that without us, without women, there would have been no spring in 1945.” Then she put my hand near a picture of a woman who came before me and let me know that I was one of the children that she was writing about. One day, she said, I too would be big and do great things.

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

