Why Can’t I See the Top of Those Trees?

Image

We kept going past that bridge, although I didn’t really want to at first. Mama and Daddy told me that we were going to see some of the biggest trees that I would ever see. I didn’t really know what they were talking about since all trees are huge and I can only see the tops of the trees in the backyard if I tilt my neck just right. We were going to a place called Muir Woods, and Mama told me that it was one of the prettiest and most peaceful places that she had ever been. I think that the meaning of peace is curling up in Daddy’s arms, but once we walked into the woods, I felt what she meant. It was quiet… so quiet. Even though there were people all over the place, it was still and the air was cool against my skin. Even I, who am known to wave my arms and kick feet while squealing, couldn’t help but remain quiet taking all of it in. I couldn’t reach them. Not the top… any of them. They were too far, although I kept stretching for them. Mama was carrying me, though, and she found one close enough for me to touch. It was so moist and fuzzy, but it felt… like it had seen a lot of life. Mama whispered in my ear that they were very, very old and that many people had touched them that were no longer with us. I don’t really know what she meant, but I do know that I could feel that the tree that I was touching was here long, long before me or even Mama and Daddy, and that it would still be around when I was big like Mama.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About doriandean

My name is Dorian Annabel. At 3-years-old, so much is new. I want to see, hear, and smell it all. I don't quite understand the "Internet" yet, but Mama says it's a way to see and touch the world, so I'm in. Since I'm still a little baby, my Mama and Daddy, Amy and Spenser Dean, are helping me to create this blog. My fingers just don't work quite fast enough yet.

Leave a Reply

